Meet the Team – Board of Directors

Liz Newton

Currently chair of the Mersey Gateway Environmental Trust and with a long and varied career in the environmental sector, Liz has held senior operational and strategy positions most recently with Natural England, of which she was one of the founding Directors. She retired from Natural England in 2023, but remains connected to the sector through her voluntary roles.  While with Natural England she led Natural England’s input to the Defra 25 Year Environment plan and the renewal of NE’s own conservation strategy, C21.

With strong roots in the North of England she has led national operational teams and area teams from the West Midlands northwards and has experience of working across a broad range of issues within the environmental sector, from strengthening rural economies to bringing about nature recovery across the North. She was a key player in the partnership that set up the Nature North initiative, now working across the north of England to bring about nature recovery and gain investment in the natural environment for nature and people.

Before joining Natural England she held senior roles with the Countryside Agency/ Commission. She has degree in Environmental Sciences and in her early career worked as an applied ecologist within local authorities.

Always happier in the great outdoors, she also coaches rowing at Warrington Rowing Club and keeps fit by cycling and walking.

Professor David Norman

David is a local resident in Halton and former Director of Daresbury Laboratory. David is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics and Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology, Honorary vice president of Cheshire Wildlife Trust and President of Cheshire and Wirral Ornithological Society.

David is the Founder chairman of the Mersey Estuary Conservation Group and RECORD – Cheshire’s biological records centre. He also has served on Councils of English Nature and RSPB. Widely considered to be Cheshire’s foremost ornithologist, David is the author of Birds in Cheshire and was awarded the British Trust for Ornithology Tucker Medal.

Nikki Burton Mallott

Nikki joined the Board of Directors in February 2023. She is a conservation educator with over 12 years’ experience working in zoological collections. Most recently she has been focusing on delivering programs and research which look at the benefits of nature and green spaces to health and wellbeing. Nikki is also a community governor to 2 primary schools.

David Inman

David joined the MGET Board of Directors in May 2019. He is the Director at DIEM Ltd and is a Chartered Environmental Surveyor and Chartered Environmentalist having over 20 years advising on environmental, energy and quality management to the private and public sectors. David currently sits on RICS North West Regional Board is an RICS APC Assessor Chairman.

Sue Bentley MBE

Sue joined the MGET’s Board of Directors in May 2019. She is a professional web developer who has managed her own company for the last twenty one years. She is also a keen community activist with a lot of experience in organising successful events to raise awareness of a variety of social issues. Sue is involved with several charities  and is also a  Climate Change Ambassador for the Cheshire Federation of WIs. She received an MBE for her contributions to charity work.

Also on the Board is David Boyer, Andrew Darron, Cllr Stef Nelson, and Euan Hall.